Tips for Patients

Tips for Patients

Tips to help patients with lung cancer and their family members to manage the treatment process

Tips for Patients

Nutrition is an important part of cancer treatment. Eating the right kinds of foods before, during, and after treatment can help a patient feel better and stay stronger.1

 

Lung cancer patient nutrition needs

Good nutrition when living with cancer is important. Some of the symptoms associated with lung cancer and its treatment may affect a person’s appetite or ability to eat. Talk to a physician, a dietitian or other healthcare professional who should be able to help. Here we provide some advice and tips.

 

- Each person's nutritional needs during lung cancer are different. They are based on a patient’s lung cancer treatment plan, his/her current height and weight, and any other illnesses he/she may have such as diabetes or heart disease.2


- Although there is no prescribed diet for lung cancer patients,a balanced diet of protein, carbohydrates, fat, fiber, water, vitamins, and mineral is essential for patients coping with cancer treatments and the road to recovery.2,3


- Among patients with advanced non-small cell lung cancer, 61% have been found to be malnourished.In addition, a patient’s nutritional status can deteriorate during the course of cancer treatment, and healing also requires nutrients, extra calories, and additional protein.Therefore, it is important to get essential nutrients the body needs.

 

Nutrition tips for lung cancer patients

Listed below are some tips on how a person with lung cancer can get all of his/her nutrients:2

- Avoid low-calorie or non-nutritious foods and drinks

Eat whenever patients feel hungry

Supplement with high-calorie drinks if necessary

Try liquid or pureed meals if patients have trouble in swallowing

Eat several small meals throughout the day

Avoid foods if they cause constipation or diarrhea

Avoid food that is very hot or very cold

Mint and ginger teas can help soothe gut

Do not take dietary supplements without consulting with a doctor

Eat sitting up. Do not lie down after eating

Eat bland foods if a patient’s stomach is upset or mouth hurts

Eat high fiber foods to help relieve constipation

Talk to a doctor! 

 

 

 

 

 

1. ACS. Nutrition for the Person with Cancer During Treatment. Available at: https://www.cancer.org/treatment/survivorship-during-and-after-treatment/staying-active/nutrition/nutrition-during-treatment.html. Accessed: 6 May 2019.

2. ALA. Nutrition for Lung Cancer. Available at: https://www.lung.org/lung-health-and-diseases/lung-disease-lookup/lung-cancer/patients/treatment/stay-healthy/nutrition.html. Accessed: 6 May 2019.

3. ACS. Benefits of Good Nutrition During Cancer Treatment. Available at: https://www.cancer.org/treatment/survivorship-during-and-after-treatment/staying-active/nutrition/nutrition-during-treatment/benefits.html. Accessed: 6 May 2019.

4. CAP. Nutrition in the Patient with Lung Cancer. Available at: https://lungcancercap.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/8_Nutrition_in_the_Patient_with_Lung_Cancer_3rdEdition.pdf. Accessed: 6 May 2019.

護理貼士

護理貼士

幫助肺癌患者和他們的家人管理癌症治療過程的護理貼士

護理貼士

營養是癌症治療中的一個重要部分。在治療前、治療期間和治療後飲食得宜可以令患者感覺較好、身體更加健壯1
 
肺癌患者的營養需要
良好的營養對肺癌患者非常重要。肺癌的一些徵狀以及治療過程可能會影響患者的食慾或進食能力。患者或照顧者應與醫生、營養師或其他醫護專業人士討論,他們會給予協助。以下提供一些相關的建議和貼士。
 
- 每個肺癌患者在治療期間的營養需要都有所不同。這可受患者的肺癌治療計劃、身高、體重以及是否有其他疾病 (例如糖尿病或心臟病) 所影響2

 

- 雖然肺癌患者並無特定的飲食處方2,但均衡的蛋白質、碳水化合物、脂肪、纖維、水份、維他命和礦物質對患者應付癌症治療非常重要,同時可幫助患者踏上康復之路2,3

 
- 在患有晚期非小細胞肺癌的患者中,61% 出現營養不良的情況4。此外,在癌症治療期間患者的營養狀況可能會變差,而康復也需要營養、額外的卡路里和更多的蛋白質4。因此,獲取身體所需要的營養成分非常重要。
 
肺癌患者的營養貼士

以下列舉了一些肺癌患者如何獲取所需營養的貼士2

 

- 避免低卡路里或沒有營養的食物和飲品;
- 任何時候當患者感到肚餓,都可以進食;
- 在有需要時以高卡路里飲品補充營養;
- 如果患者吞嚥困難,可嘗試以液體或糊狀食物代替;
- 在一天之間少食多餐;
- 避免會令患者出現便秘或腹瀉的食物;
- 避免太熱或太冷的食物;
- 薄荷和薑茶有助舒緩腸胃;
- 未經諮詢醫生意見之前,切勿服用營養補充劑;
- 坐著進食。在進食後不要即刻躺下;
- 如果患者胃部不適或口腔疼痛,可進食攪碎的食物;
- 進食高纖維食物以幫助舒緩便秘;
- 和醫生討論!

 

 

 

 

 

1. ACS. Nutrition for the Person with Cancer During Treatment. Available at: https://www.cancer.org/treatment/survivorship-during-and-after-treatment/staying-active/nutrition/nutrition-during-treatment.html. Accessed: 6 May 2019.

2. ALA. Nutrition for Lung Cancer. Available at: https://www.lung.org/lung-health-and-diseases/lung-disease-lookup/lung-cancer/patients/treatment/stay-healthy/nutrition.html. Accessed: 6 May 2019.

3. ACS. Benefits of Good Nutrition During Cancer Treatment. Available at: https://www.cancer.org/treatment/survivorship-during-and-after-treatment/staying-active/nutrition/nutrition-during-treatment/benefits.html. Accessed: 6 May 2019.

4. CAP. Nutrition in the Patient with Lung Cancer. Available at: https://lungcancercap.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/8_Nutrition_in_the_Patient_with_Lung_Cancer_3rdEdition.pdf. Accessed: 6 May 2019.